Let’s recap

Hey fun friends!

It’s been a while since I have given you a real post, so here goes.

The past few weeks have been busy and it’s time to catch up.  I worked on The Big C, Gossip Girl and Law & Order over the past weeks.  Super fun!  I was accepted into an acting troupe, The Actor’s Project.  They present showcases throughout the year and work towards getting their members representation with agencies.   I found a dance facility, Liberated Movement, that offers donation based dance classes.  Lot’s of fun and getting me back to dancing.  I have work coming up this coming Tuesday for Boardwalk Empire.  Kinda excited about it.

If you are a regular watcher of CBS Sunday Morning you probably saw this segment about what it take to be a background actor. It’s not glamorous at all.  Nothing about it is glamorous.  Maybe getting your makeup and hair checked by the hair and makeup folks is a tiny bit glamorous.  Other than that, you cart around your entire wardrobe in a suitcase on the subway in order to get to set on time, sometimes 6am.  You hope that you have brought an outfit that the wardrobe people approve for you, usually it is the outfit you wore to set and you didn’t need to bring all of your other stuff.  Then you sit in a large room, if you are lucky, all day and wait to be called to set and then arranged like strategic chess pieces, or houseplants, and told when to move or cross and what you should be pretending to do.  It’s a lot of waiting around for very little screen time.  Most people bring books, computers, knitting or work on other projects.  Or you can usually take a nap if you can find a quiet corner.  Sometimes you get to see the stars of the show.  Most of the time they are far away and you could never get a chance to lock eyes with them.  Other times you run right into them like I did.  I was making a cross that I was directed to do and ran right into Danny Pino from Law & Order. He was very nice and asked if I was ok.  That is the closest I’ve gotten to talking to a star on set.  I’m there to do a job and so are they.  Not take pictures and hang out in front of their dressing room.  Those people don’t book work after that.  I know I’ve broken the illusion of this side of the business for many of you.  Sorry.  It’s all very fascinating and tedious when you are a part of it.  I love it.

I also wanted to give you a listing of when I was on TV and what’s coming up so you can set your DVRs.  I’ve also given links to any shows you may have missed.  Some shows haven’t aired yet.  I promise I will let you know when they are coming up.

Law & Order: SVU                                                                                                               “Father’s Shadow”  Air Date: 2/8/12                                                                                   Look for me at the barricade in the background and again as the police car pulls thru the barricade.  Black coat & green scarf.

“Hunting Grounds”  Air Date: 2/22/12                                                                              Look for me on the beach digging.  I’m on the left side of your screen for a split second.

“Valentine’s Day”    Air Date: 4/11/12                                                                                  Look for me at the airport as they chase down a suspect.

A Gifted Man                                                                                                                                      “In Case of Complications”  Air Date: 2/10/12                                                                Look for me in the courtroom gallery

“In Case of Letting Go”  Air Date: 2/24/12                                                                       Look for me in the lobby.  You can see the back of my head very clearly.

“In Case of Heart Failure” Air Date: 3/2/12                                                                     Look for me during the beginning at the gala.  Red dress.

Blue Bloods                                                                                                                                     “The Life We Chose”  Air Date: 2/24/12                                                                            Look for me in the background in the squad room.

“Reagan V. Reagan”    Air Date: 3/9/12                                                                              Look for me at the bar when Danny comes in.

Gossip Girl                                                                                                                            “Despicable B”  Air Date: Unknown                                                                                     Look for me at the restaurant in the back and waiting outside.

The Big C                                                                                                                                        Unknown Episode Title and Air Date                                                                                  Look for me in the hotel lobby.  Susan Sarandon and Oliver Platt at the bar Gabourey Sidibe in the lobby.

Boardwalk Empire                                                                                                               Unknown Episode Title and Air Date

I have also booked an audition with Sleep No More.  You can find reviews for the show here and here.  They do a much better job at describing the show than I could ever do.  Basically, it is the story of Macbeth set in a 1930’s hotel.  The audience can follow the actors around they hotel as they perform/dance.  The audience is masked and is given free range to go into the different hotel rooms and follow the actors around.  Super fun and super creepy.  I have no idea what to expect from this audition.  All I know is that it will be a movement audition.  That’s all.  I talked to friends who have seen the show and they say it is weird and creepy.  So I guess I will be weird and creepy for the audition.  I want to book this show so badly.  I know it’s my first dance audition in NYC and I know I shouldn’t get my hopes up.  I hope to go in and do my best and hope they see something in me that they like and can use.  Fingers crossed.

My usual part time retail job is cutting back hours and hasn’t scheduled me at all for the past two weeks.  It’s nice to have the time off and schedule background work when I can, but the background work is not steady work yet.  I have applied for many, many administrative-like positions and retail positions, but haven’t heard back from any of them.  So.  Here I am doing what I’m really not good at, asking for help.  I’m applying for every job I can, but if anyone has any contacts up here in NYC or knows of any job openings, please let me know.  I’m also taking donations.  Anything at all.  In exchange for your donations you will receive my undying love and appreciation and the knowledge that you are letting me pursue my life long dream.  I can also repay you in handmade jewelry, original paintings and tasty treats.  You pick.  I will put a PayPal donation button on the side bar and leave the rest up to you.  Thank you.

I will keep you updated of my adventures on Boardwalk Empire and my upcoming audition.  Until then, goodnight.

Leave a comment